Sunday, January 31, 2010

Teen Book Choice of the Year

I received this note in my inbox the other day and thought my readers might be interested: is again collaborating with the Children's Book Council (CBC) on the 2010 Teen Choice Book of the Year, offering teens an opportunity to share their five favorite books of 2009. The five titles that receive the most votes will serve as the finalists for the CBC’s 2010 Teen Choice Book of the Year.

A list of nominees can be found at, where readers also may find information on how to nominate other titles published in 2009. As the deadline for nominating books is fast approaching --- February 1, 2010.

Giveaway: Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert

Today, on the final day of my blogoversary, I'm giving away my favorite book of 2009 and possibly favorite book of all-time - Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert If you haven't read this book, you really should!!

To enter:
+1 leave a comment with your email
+1 for being a follower
+1 for tweeting/blogging (please leave a link!

Final Guestblog: Stephanie Kuehnert

Wow! I can't believe January is over already! Today's guest blog is by one of my all-time favorite writers, Stephanie Kuehnert. Both of her books, I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone and Ballads of Suburbia, are AMAZING. (If you follow my on Twitter, you know how much I love Ballads.)

I’ve been keeping a diary since I was seven and my mom got me the Beezus and Ramona diary since the Ramona books were some of my favorites. Back then my entries were pretty much limited to talking about the books and movies I’d gotten out of the library. I wrote stuff like, “I read Black Beauty. It was great!!! I love horses! I’m checking out the movie today.”

Of course as I got older my entries changed. I wrote about my problems with friends, my unrequited crushes, and all sort of confused feelings. When I had a hard time writing directly about my feelings, I wrote poems or short stories that expressed them. I also started making ‘zines. I was in high school in the early nineties when people were only starting to get email addresses and my internet usage was limited to AOL forums and chat rooms where I discussed punk bands and feminism. When I talk to teens about my ‘zines now, I compare them to an early form of blogging because that was what my ‘zines were at least—basically a journal that I distributed to the public. Sometimes I wrote reviews of books or music, but I’m not that great of a reviewer. To this day when I’m asked to write a blurb for a book or I love a book so much that I feel I have to blog about it, I anguish over the task because honestly my reviewing skills have not progressed that much past that Black Beauty review I wrote when I was seven. I admire all the book bloggers out there in a huge way because for some reason it is really hard for me to put that emotional response I have to a book or a song into words.

And yet, for some reason, I can rant for pages about emotional events that stir me. That is what I did a lot of in my ‘zines. I did it to the point that I made people uncomfortable and even lost some friends. I was brutally honest. I wrote about things that a lot of people didn’t want to talk about, things like abuse and self-injury and rape. Sometimes I felt like maybe I was oversharing, getting to personal, being too truthful, but I couldn’t help it. It was my firm belief that bad things continued to happen in our world because we didn’t talk about them, face them, and take action.

My early blogs were like my zines. I had a Diaryland site and I treated it like a diary. I purged my feelings in there and posted the writing I was working on. If you followed me back then, around 2000/2001 you would have been reading a very early version of my novel BALLADS OF SUBURBIA, except it was more like thinly veiled autobiography. I felt like it was anonymous. Only my closest friends and strangers read it. Then someone I knew in high school stumbled upon it and said some nasty things, so I shied away from blogging for awhile.

I started blogging again regular when I sold my first novel, I WANNA BE YOUR JOEY RAMONE. I knew I was going to be published, knew fans of my writing would seek me out, and my blog would be public, so I wondered if I should tone things down. Maybe I should just write about my writing process or my books or benign things like my pets and the vacations I take. And if you visit my blog (, you will find some of these things. But you’ll also find my brutally honest truths. When one of my dear friends died, I wrote about him, raw and grieving and unfiltered. When I was overwhelmed by bad memories of it, I blogged about the abusive relationship I was in during my sophomore year of high school. When BALLADS OF SUBURBIA came out, my book that deals with self-injury, I wrote about my own battle with cutting. Sometimes I wonder if it is TMI, if I should censor myself, but I can’t. If you are familiar with my books, you know that I don’t hold back. I let my characters be raw and real. They swear, they do things they shouldn’t do, they get hurt, and they fight to survive. I believe in honesty. That’s what I wanted to read as a teen. I’ve always hated feeling lied to or feeling like things are being sugarcoated. So I can’t do it. Not in my fiction or in my blog. So maybe my blog is different from other YA authors’ blogs, maybe it gets a little too heavy at times (though I do try to balance it out with fun pictures), but I guess that’s just who I am and my blog reflects it.

What about you guys? Do you get personal in your blogs? Do you like blogs that get personal?

And again, three cheers for Harmony Book Reviews and all of the book blogs out there. Believe me, we need you, those of you who are better at describing books than “It was great! I love horses!”

Saturday, January 30, 2010

Books to Swap/Sell

I'm finally reaching the point where I *really* need to get rid of some books. So I've decided to sell all the books that I have bought myself or had from other swaps or anything like that. For ARCs, I ask that we either swap or you pay for shipping. If you're interested in anything below, please email

For Sale:
*All books are $1 unless otherwise marked.

Girlfriends - Carmen Berry
The Cheat - Amy Goldman Koss
Cry of the Icemark - Stuart Holl (.50)
The Misfits - James Howe
Ella Enchanted (.50)
The Wanderer - Sharon Creech (.50)
A Question of Trust - Marion Bauer
Bearstone - Will Hobbs
The Fall - Garth Nix
Wonder's Promise - Joanna Campbell
If I Asked You, What Would You Say? - Eve Bunting (ex-library copy, hardcover, .50)
Hatching Magic - Ann Downer
Miracles on Maple Hill - Virginia Sorensen
A Time Apart - Diane Stanley
The Secret Life of Amanda K. Woods - Ann Cameron
The Fire Rose - Mercedes Lackey
Here on Earth - Alice Hoffman
Dear John - Nicholas Sparks
Phantom Stallion: Desert Dancer - Terri Farley (brand new, 2.50)
Chinese Cinderella (read once, like new, $2)

Break - Hannah Moskowitz
Ash - Malinda Lo
Hold Still - Nina LaCour
Peace Love and Baby Ducks - Lauren Myracle
Things Are Gonna Get Ugly - Hillary Homzie
Destroy All Cars - Blake Nelson
Beautiful Americans - Lucy Silag
Giving Up the V - Serena Robar
Lipstick Apology - Jennifer Jabaley
Hershey Herself - Cecilia Galante
Pysch Major Syndrome - Alicia Thompson
Talent - Zoey Dean
Freeze Frame - Heidi Ayarbe

If you're interested in any, please email me at harmonybookreviews[at]

Friday, January 29, 2010

Guestblog: Cherry Cheva

Today's guestblog is by Cherry Cheva, who wrote one of the few books that made me crack up uncontrolabley. (It's called She's So Money - check it out).

HAPPY TWO-YEAR BLOGOVERSARY TO HARMONY BOOK REVIEWS! And since this a BLOG and not a CHILD, I am sure these twos will NOT be terrible at all! Let us reflect on the awesomeness of Harmony, shall we?

1) Harmony is the mastermind behind the whole 1-ARC tour thing, which is like the greatest thing EVER. Seriously. When I first heard of this, it was all I could do not to jump out of my chair and go "That's genius!" In fact, I may have done that. I mean, it's such a ridiculously great idea that I have no idea why people haven't been doing it since the dark ages, except for the fact that in the dark ages, they didn't have mail, so how would one send the ARCs around, and did they even have books, because when was the printing press invented, and also, could anybody read? I'm bad with history. Anyway, I have been fortunate enough to join many other authors in having our ARCs sent around in this manner, and knowing that our limited number of review copies end up in so many more hands because of Harmony's work rules. RULES!

2) Harmony is also the name of a character from the Whedonverse. See: Buffy, Angel. This is awesome.

3) Harmony is something that sounds pretty when sung. See: Glee. Also awesome.

4) Harmony contains the word "harm" which perhaps sounds like a negative but is actually a neutral statement because what if you're doing harm to an EVIL person or thing, like Voldemort? Exactly.

5) Harmony also contains "mony" which is either half of the serviceably catchy 80s tune "Mony Mony" or just a very slightly misspelled "money" which is something that we can all use to buy more books. Thus, a positive.

6) Harmony can be rearranged to spell "hay morn." This conjures up images of a sunny beautiful day on a farm. This is pleasant. Harmony can also be rearranged to spell "may horn." This sounds sort of like the punchline to a dirty joke involving unicorns. Dirty jokes are good, and unicorns are just dandy. Unless you're team zombie, but I'm getting off topic.

7) Harmony is a book blogger, and book bloggers are heroes-- especially to us authors who don't have zillions of our publishers' marketing dollars being thrown at us every five seconds. Some of us don't get to have our books in every bookstore. Some of us aren't in any. But bloggers help our words reach readers who might not otherwise hear about us, and for this, we are bigtime grateful. I mean, blogging takes WORK. First of all, it's writing, which is hard enough to do anyway, but it's even harder to do on top of school and/or jobs and/or life's general activities and/or whatever else. PLUS, book reviewing also requires a massive amount of reading, which, sure, is fun and you were doing it anyway, which is why you started the blog in the first place, but then to spend time crafting a well-thought-out review, posting it up for the world to see, and then reacting to and interacting with that world as opinions and counteropinions fly in, not all of them necessarily positive? That's effort, people. That's effort and bravery and dedication, and for this, bloggers deserve not only polite, classy golf claps, but also a rousing standing ovation, and perhaps even some loud cheering and screaming and some rowdy throwing of chairs and starting of riots. Bloggers ROCK, y'all. They rock! So HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY TO HARMONY and kisses and hugs to book bloggers in general! :D Keep up the good work! *throws chair* (see, told you it was worth some chair-throwing) :)

Wednesday, January 27, 2010

Guestblog: Khy

Today, I have another one of my blogger friends guestblogging on, well, me.
One of the Many Reasons Why Harmony is Totally Awesome

First off, thanks to Harmony for asking me to guest blog! I love Harmony and her amazing blog so I am ~honored~ to be a guest here. :D

If you know Harmony, you know that she is awesome. But did you know that she is also the master of sekrit projects? SHE IS.

Since I am basically a twitter addict, I am constantly checking my twitter for updates. And more times than I can count, I have seen a tweet from Harmony saying “working on a sekrit project!” or “sekrit project will be revealed soon!” or something along those lines. She’s always plotting something! They are always a million projects!

I still don’t know how she manages to do all these projects. She must not sleep. Maybe she doesn’t need to. Maybe she’s a superhero. I don’t know. All I know is that Harmony is always plotting something.

And her plots are always awesome and helpful! PAPAYA (yes I am still calling it that), for example, is super win, and is one of Harmony’s totally huge awesome sekrit projects. I think it is her most awesome, really.

I cannot wait to see what the Master of Sekrit Projects has up her sleeve for the new year, because I’m sure she is plotting more, like she always does. :D

[Harmony's note - she's right, I'm plotting again!)

Giveaway: Break by Hannah Moskowitz

Today I'm giving away a copy of Break by Hannah Moskowitz. I never reviewed this but it was one of my favorite books last year. Hannah has amazing talent and I think everyone should check this one out.

To enter:
+1 leave a comment with your email
+1 for being a follower
+1 for spreading the word (please leave links

Monday, January 25, 2010

Vlog: Melissa Walker

I thought I'd change things up today so instead of a guest blog, here's a vlog by the awesome Melissa Walker. Make sure to comment after you watch!

Sunday, January 24, 2010

The Very Long but Heartfelt Thank-You Post!

Two years ago today I was bored. Two years ago today I found Teen Book Review and decided that hey, I could do that! Two years ago, I was a terrible blogger.

I can't believe that it's been two years. I can honestly say that the only thing I've ever stuck with this long or longer has been writing. So two years is major for me. I'm hoping that next January I'll be able to sit and here say, well two years was major but three years is incredible.

Anyway, there's no way I would still be here without a large group of people and I feel the need to thank them now. Some of you are probably going to find this boring so feel free to skip it but I hope everyone mentioned takes the time to read it!

First, the authors:

Thanks to Lisa Schroeder, who was the first author I ever emailed back when I was a terrible blogger, and who has been supportive of the blog ever since, to Julia Hoban for being so supportive of the blog and my many projects and being the first author I ever talked to on the phone (I nearly had a panic attack!), to Stephanie Kuehnert who has also been extremely supportive and amazing and also for introducing me to some amazing bands (and writing my favorite book of 2009!), to Melissa Walker and Jennifer Banash because they were two of the first to ever send me books to review, to all the authors I got to meet this year and talk to, including Jennifer Hubbard, Sarah Dessen (I seriously almost passed out because of that one), Laurie Halse Anderson, Laura Weiss, Elizabeth Scott and all the others, because that's really the point of it all, to Josh Berk for helping me with PAYA, to Alexandra Bracken for writing the book I am currently obsessed with - it's books like hers that keep me reviewing - and to all of the authors who ever offered their book to me for review or who I've interviewed, it's so appreciated! Thank you!!

Thanks to JL, AJ, and EM for being three of the nicest people in publishing and sending me some AMAZING books. Thanks to all of the other publicists who've sent me books too! :)

Okay, on to the reviewers:

Thanks to Kristi, Chelsea, Tirzah, and Jocelyn because they were the first blogs I found and the ones that inspired me to keep going. Special thanks to Kristi and Chelsea for being great friends and writing buddies and to Tirzah for helping me with Summerland. Thanks to James for giving me tons of advice when I first started and hanging out with me this summer, to Khy for being excited about my projects even when I'm not and calling in to chat when I was so nervous, to Steph Su for letting me borrow *that* book and being really nice, and to Nikki because she's awesome. Thanks to Hope and Mitali for being amazing friends and letting me borrow their books and making sure I keep going and to Hope for calling that once to say "Harmony, you need to cheer up!" Thanks to Yan for helping me with PAYA. Thanks to Hope and Erica for helping me with the tours and putting up with my forgetfulness. Thanks to Angel because, well, just because. :) Thanks to everyone who is helping me out with my Sekrit Project too!

I know as soon as I post this I'm going to remember someone I forgot. So if you're thinking "why am I not on this list?!" it's because I'm a ditz and I lost my first draft of this but you're still appreciated!

Also, thanks to everyone reading this. I'd be lost without my readers!

Thank you!!

Saturday, January 23, 2010

Giveaway: All About Vee by C. Leigh Purtill

Today I'm giving away a copy of All About Vee by C. Leigh Purtill.

To enter:
+1 leave a comment on this post with your email.
+1 for leaving a comment on Leigh's guestblog.
+1 for being a follower.

Deadline: February 2nd

Thursday, January 21, 2010

Guestblog: C. Leigh Purtill

Today's guestblog of by C. Leigh Purtill, author of Love, Meg and All About Vee. She's blogging about blogging!

When Characters Blog
C. Leigh Purtill

When you’re a debut or budding author, especially in the YA market, the most important web-related question you ask yourself is, “What type of blog will I have?” In other words, what do I want my online self to look like?

Will I be the kind of blogger who posts daily photos of my meals? Of my shoes?

Will I write only about writing? About books? About other writers?

Will I keep a personal blog that reflects my other interests?

Will I post a ton of links to other pages?

And a hard one: will I be funny or serious?

My author blog is a combination of all of the above because a) I change my mind a lot and b) I am influenced by other writers and bloggers and I often want to do different things based on what inspires me.

If you know me, you also know I keep a ballet blog because I teach ballet. I post technique videos I’ve done as well as tips for class and performance.

But there is a third blog that not many people know about: my character Meg Shanley’s blog. About a year before my first novel, LOVE, MEG, was released, I started a blog in Meg’s name and in her POV. It takes place in the year before the events in the book begin. It is, in essence, Meg’s backstory and reflects what she was thinking about before she and Lucie began their adventure in the book.

I had a blast writing it! As myself, I sometimes find it’s hard to blog. I’m often concerned about how I will come across to readers or potential readers. I don’t want to offend people who may believe different things than I do and yet I want to be true to who I am as a person and a writer. With my ballet blog, it’s strictly educational so I can’t and don’t post anything negative about ballet or classes or my students (not that I would because I love them all!).

But with Meg’s blog, which I called “Mega Girl,” I was free to fully inhabit the character and write with abandon. I wrote about books I (as Meg) had read, classes I was taking, people I had met. I could be silly or sarcastic – because that’s who Meg is. And best of all, I could allude to things that were in my future, in the book that had been written.

Some people found it and took it seriously. They assumed Mega Girl was a real person and responded to her that way. Some found it after the book came out and they read it for more insight into Meg and her background. Those people often commented on posts saying how much they liked the book and Meg herself and asking me if I would be writing a sequel.

What amazes me, though, is that people continue to read it every day. I haven’t posted on it since shortly after the book was released since the book picks up after that and there’s no mention of her blogging in it (although I did put in a quick line about how she used to blog but couldn’t anymore because she didn’t have access to a computer). Yet still people read about Meg.

Sometimes I think I’d like to revisit Meg’s blog and post about things now, two years after the book ends. It would be fun to follow up with her, to see if she and Juny are still together, if she and Reggie are still friends, if she and Lucie are in the same apartment.

When ALL ABOUT VEE came out, I knew I couldn’t do the same thing for Veronica May. She’s an actress, not a web geek, and she doesn’t have the time to be blogging. But tweeting? Maybe that’s something Vee and her friends would do. Perhaps I’ll do that in the sequel, THE RISE OF GINNY COOPER, which is my next online experiment: a book published online only and for free!

Happy 2nd Blogoversary, Harmony! I’ve loved your blog since I found it, probably shortly after you started it. You’ve been insightful and smart in your reviews, yet you’re not afraid to criticize. That’s a great trait in an honest reader! Hope the next year is full of even more exciting things for you!


Tuesday, January 19, 2010

Help Me Support the Industry!

As I mentioned early, I'm using this month to support the industry by buying all of the books i giveaway. Unfortunately, there's a limit to my budget and I can't buy nearly as many books as I'd like. So, I'm asking for your help. Take out those giftcards you haven't spent yet or beg ten dollars off your parents and BUY A BOOK. Any book at all. Then email the receipt to me at harmonybookreviews[at]yahoo[dot]com.

If you do, you'll be entered to win:
-a pre-order of any Tenner book
-a book by any author I've featured as AOM (includes Bree Despain, Jennifer Banash, Melissa Walker, Stephenie Kuehnert, Catherine Clark and manymany others)
-a Razorbill Tshirt
-a large amount of swag, including signed bookmarks, a HUSH HUSH poster, buttons for Speak and Peace, Love, and Baby Ducks, and anything else I can find.

I know this isn't the biggest buy-and-win contest there's ever been but I know most of you buy books anyway - this is just an extra incentive to buy that book you've been ogling for the past two months NOW.

Here's the point break down:
+1 for any book you buy (so if you buy four books, +4)
+3 for buying any book off of this list
+5 for buying:
-I Wanna Be Your Joey Ramone or Ballads of Suburbia by Stephanie Kuehnert
-Willow by Julia Hoban
- Breathing by Cheryl Renee Herbsman
- Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder

Please send all receipts to me by February 15th.

(No extra points for this but I'd lovelovelove you if you spread the word!)

Monday, January 18, 2010

Guestblog: Nikki from Word for Teens

Today's guest post is from another of my blogger friends, Nikki from Word for Teens.

An Ode to Harmony - A Collection Of Random Poems Dedicated To Her Awesomness
By Nicole of WORD for Teens

There once was a blogger named Harmony
Who reviewed books from Hush, Hush to Harry.
It started in '08
And now we've reached the date:
Two years since she started, how merry!

Awesomesauce has found
a home at Harmony Book
Reviews. Joyous days!

H is for the girl who began it
A is for awesomeness that is it
R is for the reviews that are posted
M for the magic it's created
O is for the opinions that vary
N for the Nicole who's writing this, and
Y for the young adult that she reads.

I've been following Harmony Book Reviews since it started and it's only gotten better since then. It's been two years of fantastic reviews, wonderful contests, and generally interesting content. Am I psyched for what will come?

Can I get a Oh yeah!?

Saturday, January 16, 2010

Giveaway: Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Today I'm giving away one of my favorite books by one of my favorite authors - Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson.

(I was lucky enough to meet Laurie this past November and I gotta say, it was one of the BEST days EVER. She's great.)

Anyway, Speak is definitely a life-changing book so if you haven't read it, I highly suggest you do. And if you have, maybe enter so you have your own copy or give this one to a friend.

To enter:
+1 leave a comment with your email.
+1 for being a follower
+5 for making a blog post about the blogoversary

Deadline: January 30th

Friday, January 15, 2010

Guestblog: Kay Cassidy

Today we have 2010 Debut Author Kay Cassidy with us to talk about two of the books she can't wait for. I haven't read either but after reading this post, I'm ready to go buy them!

An Ode to Book Ogling
by Kay Cassidy

In the spirit of book-loving that is totally Harmony’s domain, I thought it would be fun to spotlight a few of the 2010 books I’m really looking forward to. I love to ogle books the same as the next gal, so it’s cool to have the opportunity to give a few shoutouts of my own!

Disclaimer: I know. I’m a Tenner, so how can I possibly choose just a few 2010 releases from my fellow debut authors? The answer is, by being a Cheatie McCheaterpants. I’m not going to include any Tenner debut books (because really, I have NO IDEA how I would narrow that list down to just a handful). I’ve already read a dozen of them and holy crow are they awesome!!

Sorry. Book ogling moment. Where was I? 2010 books I can’t wait to read? Got it.

In addition to the fabulouso Tenner books, here are two of my OMG-I-Can’t-Wait-For-This titles...

This World We Live In

At the top of the list is Susan Beth Pfeffer’s final book in the Moon trilogy, This World We Live In.

I am a BIG CHICKEN when it comes to post-apocalyptic books, so I didn’t actually read the first two until my friend Tera Lynn Childs convinced me I needed to during the summer of 2009. I read the first book, Life As We Knew It, and was immediately swept away into this world that Sue had built. I needed a breather in between that and the second book, The Dead and the Gone, because it’s a pretty intense trilogy. (I read Lisa Yee’s fabulous Millicent Min: Girl Genius to cleanse the palette, so to speak. Loved it!)

Both of the Moon books have been completely fabulous, so when I found out This World We Live In brings the heroine from book one and the hero from book 2 together into one final story? I was over the moon! (excuse the pun)

Heist Society

Ally Carter is one of my all-time favorite YA authors. Her Gallagher Girls books are auto-buys for me, and I always devour them in a single sitting. When I heard about this terrific new series, Heist Society, I knew it was for me.

I love love LOVE the Oceans 11—Oceans 12—Oceans 13 movies, so I already know I’m going to be staying up way too late the first night this one hits shelves to read it.

I could go on and on (and on and ON) with my list, but these are two of my top early 2010 auto-buys. What’s coming up that’s an auto-buy for you?

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Contest: Pre-order of Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken

I've had the chance to read many upcoming books and while many of them were REALLY good, Brightly Woven is the one that stuck with me the most. I loved it so much that I've already mentioned it in two posts.

Since this month is all about spreading the love of books I absolutely ADORE, I'm giving away a pre-ordered of a hardcover copy of Brightly Woven.

*Edit - Alexandra has offered to send the winner a signed bookplate too!

To enter:

+1 leave a comment with your email
+1 become a follower
+1 for Tweeting about it

Deadline: January 30th.

Monday, January 11, 2010

Guestblog: Kristi from The Story Siren

Today's guestblog is from another of my favorite bloggers - Kristi of The Story Siren. I'm sure you've all heard of her by now and I'm completely honored she's here today!


First off, I want to thank Harmony for asking me to be a part of her blog celebration! I’m was so very thrilled to be asked! Of course I had to accept, because... well I’m cool like that.

But we’re not here to talk about how cool I am, even though.. I so obviously am... we are here to talk about the awesomeness that is Harmony!

So Harmony and I started our blogs around the same time. Back when you could count the number of YA book blogs on one hand, those were the days! Or maybe there were a lot of blogs out there and I just didn’t know about them, but this is my guest post, so stop trying to ruin it for me!

But Harmony is one of those bloggers that has always stood out, because she goes above and beyond. She actually makes a difference! You might have heard about that little thing she started called Bringing More YA to PA.... or how about her One ARC Book Tours.... I mean does the girl ever think about herself! She’s helping raise money for PA libraries, and getting books for libraries that wouldn’t be able to get them otherwise, and she is putting books/arcs into the hands of bloggers that might not of had a chance otherwise.

Harmony is not only a fabulous blogger, but she’s a fabulous person.

I feel privileged to call her a friend.

Happy blog-i-versary Harmony... here’s hoping many more!

Sunday, January 10, 2010

A Note About Contests

All the books for contests, unless I otherwise note, will be shipped from Book Depository directly to the winner. I chose to do it this way because BD often has lower prices than Amazon and it has free shipping.

I've received a few questions about whether or not contests are international - my answer is that it all depends on your country. I can ship the books free to you anywhere but BD often changes the prices for non-US addresses. That makes everything really confusing and frustrating, I know. If you aren't sure if the price for the book is the same to you as it is to the US, just enter but include your country and I'll check myself when I pick the winners.

I hope that clears everything up - let me know if you have any questions.

Friday, January 8, 2010

Contest: My Favorite Horse Series!

After I fell in love with reading after Harry Potter, the books that kept me hooked were horse series. I had a horse obsession then and, despite the fact I've yet to be able to ride one, I still do. While these books are aimed on younger readers, these three series remain to be some of my favorites. I can't give away the full series to each of them but I can giveaway the first book in each series!

ONE winner will receive:

-A paperback of The Wild One by Terri Farley (Book 1 in the Phantom Stallion series and the book that began my obsession.)

-A paperback of Coming Home by Lauren Brooke (Book 1 in the Heartland series which is my favorite series because there's more romance than in Phantom Stallion)

-A paperback of Take the Reins by Jessica Burkhart. (Book 1 in the Canterwood Crest series which is my newest favorite horse series.)

To enter:
+1 leave a comment with your email
+1 become a follower (or if you already are)

Deadline: January 16th

Thursday, January 7, 2010

Guestblog: Lisa Schroeder

Today's guestblog is by another of my favorite authors, Lisa Schroeder. Her third YA book came out yesterday and, let me tell you, it totally rocks my socks! You can win all three of her books by commenting on the post below this! Remember, a comment on this post gets you an extra entry!


Oh my dear Harmony, how much do I heart thee?

Let me count the ways.

Two years ago, when my first book came out, you were so excited to interview ME, even though at that point, no on really even knew who I was. And yet, you made me feel special. Like a REAL author who deserved to be featured on your blog in the most special way.

A year later, when I asked if you'd be willing to do a special vlog for my book FAR FROM YOU, you jumped at the opportunity. There was no hesitation whatsoever, even though you hadn't even read the book yet. You just said yes, and were eager to help me out.

Still, now, you greet each of my books with a huge amount of enthusiasm - and I can't thank you enough for that.

Happy blogoversary, my dear Harmony. Your love of books continues to shine through on your blog every day, and we are all so fortunate to be a part of it.

Keep up the great work!!

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

The Mega Lisa Schroeder Giveaway!

Yesterday was the release date for one of the best books I've read in a LONG time: Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder!

To celebrate, I'm giving away all three of Lisa Schroeder's YA books. One winner will receive: a paperback of I Heart You, You Haunt Me, a paperback of Far From You, and a hardcover of Chasing Brooklyn.

To enter: (Google Docs is giving my trouble so we're doing this the old way)

+1 leave a comment on this post with your email

+1 for tweeting about the contest and leaving a link

+1 for commenting on the guest blog by Lisa (that will go up tomorrow.)

Deadline: January 14th

Monday, January 4, 2010

Guestblog: James of Book Chic

Today's guest blog is by one of my favorite reviewers and the first reviewer I ever met - James of Book Chic. Enjoy!


So when Harmony asked me to write a guest blog for her two-year blogoversary and gave me two topics to choose from, I immediately responded back with a "How DARE you steal my two-year blogoversary guest blog ideas!! You thief! You bamboozler (which, by the way, is not even a word according to Microsoft Word and also doesn't really fit the situation but I like saying it)!" I decided not to speak to her at all because of her stealing my completely original, never-used-before-me copyrighted guest blog topic ideas and would take her to court.

Then I realized that I had no money for a lawyer and also that I had never actually copyrighted those ideas. So I reluctantly agreed to write a guest blog and here I am.

I first met Harmony through the Meg Cabot forums a few times without realizing it before meeting her in the blogosphere. We eventually made the connection through many conversations and it was fun to realize that connection. We've continued to chat and give each other advice and book recommendations. And this past summer, we even met up in DC at a book signing! It was so much fun hanging out with her for a bit in person. It sucks being internet friends because you get to know each other online for so long but a lot of times, you're always so far away from each other and it's hard to hang out in person.

Anyway, Harmony is a wonderful person and a fantastic blogger. I love what she does with her blog, and now what she's doing to help out Pennsylvania libraries is just tremendous and a testament to how great she is. I also love how she's buying all the books being used in giveaways this month and helping out the authors and publishers.

Harmony, you're a great blogger and I really hope you continue doing what you've been doing for many years to come. Thanks so much for inviting me to be a part of this momentous occasion!

Now please stop stealing my ideas!! >:( Grawr!"

(Harmony's note - We did do pretty similar things for our 2 year blogoversaries but I did not steal his ideas on purpose!)

Sunday, January 3, 2010

Contest: Bloom by Elizabeth Scott

The first giveaway this month is for Bloom by Elizabeth Scott.

To enter, just fill out the form below by January 14th. The book will be shipped directly to the winner from Book Depository.

Since Google Docs isn't working for people, you can also enter by:

+1 leaving a comment on this post with your email
+1 commenting on Elizabeth's guest blog (post below this)

Saturday, January 2, 2010

Guestblog: Elizabeth Scott

I figured there's no better way to start off the month than with a guest blog by one of my favorite authors. Enjoy and comment!

Two years in the blogosphere is a long time. Probably about twenty years in off-line time (no, I'm serious--think how many blog come and go!)--and Harmony, congrats on two years!

Being a blogger is a huge undertaking, and I have nothing but admiration for those of you who take time out of your incredibly busy days to share your thoughts about Young Adult novels--you are the people who get the Internet talking! You are the people that publishers are now, more and more, using for quotes!

And Harmony, with your ARC tours, you've added a new dimension to the world of YA blogging. You've made it possible for authors, in this era of ever-shrinking resources, to get their books out there to bloggers who want to read them. Thank you for that, and for all you do--and Happy Blogaversary!!

Friday, January 1, 2010

So This Time Last Year....

I was celebrating the New Year with a party, and this year, well I'm doing the same thing. ;)

As many of you know, I began Harmony Book Reviews on January 21st, 2008, which means that I feel the need the ring in the New Year with lots of celebration. Last year, I celebrated with tons of giveaways and interviews/guestblogs.

This year will be much the same with one exception - I will be buying all of the books I giveaway. Over the past two years, I've received SO many books for review from authors and publishers but being a teenager on a very small budget, I haven't been able to purchase many. So I've started saving my pennies (literally) and now it's time to spread the cheer!

I have tons of things lined up this month - including visits from Elizabeth Scott, Lisa Schroeder, The Story Siren, Book Chic, and TONS more. Plus, a bunch of contests (which may or may not include pre-orders of Tenner books!).

So if you aren't a follower yet, now's the time to do it. Tomorrow the fun starts!